FEC Academy

Future Earth Coasts is first and foremost a dynamic network that reflects the interdisciplinary, international, and multi-scale challenge of developing transformation pathways for the sustainable development of the world’s coastal zones.
We build on strong relationships and developed a pool of experts, which previously served in various roles in our project – as members or chairs of our former Scientific Steering Committee or as staff in our previous IPO. Together they form the Future Earth Coasts Academy.

 The FEC Academy is constituted of scientists and stakeholders of highest reputation, who act as ambassadors for FEC and take responsibility for the development of research and outputs of Future Earth Coasts. We are striving for diversity in the matter of geographics, discipline and gender. Membership will be expanded over the coming years and is by invitation only.

Please find a list of current members below. Note that profiles of individual members are added/updated continuously.
Dr Anthony (Ticky) Forbes  (Director & Chief Scientist MER & Research Associate, University of KwaZulu-Natal, Durban)

Marine & Estuarine Research | South Africa
Go to profile…

Dr Liana Talaue McManus (Independent Scientist)

Global Environment Facility Marine Plastics Project, Project Coordinator
Go to profile…

Prof Dr Alice Newton (Professor, DCTMA- Department of Earth, Environmental and Marine Sciences)

CIMA-Centre for Marine and Environmental Research, University of Algarve | Portugal

Go to profile…

Prof Dr Joan Nymand Larsen (Professor)

Stefansson Arctic Institute and University of Akureyri | Iceland

Go to profile…

Prof Dr Nancy Rabalais (Professor & Shell Oil Endowed Chair, Department of Oceanography and Coastal Sciences)

Louisiana State University | USA
Go to profile

Prof Dr Ramesh Ramachandran (Director)

National Centre for Sustainable Coastal Management, Ministry of Environment, Forest & Climate Change | India 

Go to profile…

Prof Dr Juan D. Restrepo (Full Professor and Researcher; Director of the PhD Program In Earth Sciences)

Department of Earth Sciences, EAFIT University | Colombia
Go to profile…

Prof Dr Tim Smith (Australian Research Council Future Fellow)

University of the Sunshine Coast| Australia
Go to profile…

Prof Merle Sowman (Head of Department)

University of Cape Town | South Africa

Go to profile…